mdbtools bus error

with the help of evan, i’ve got mdb-tools installed on the lappy. mdb-tools gives you a set of utils to do things with Access databases, in my case that means getting the schema and data exported to some nice sql to move it into MySql or postgres. The utils it installs are:

  • mdb-array
  • mdb-export
  • mdb-header
  • mdb-hexdump
  • mdb-import
  • mdb-parsecsv
  • mdb-prop
  • mdb-schema
  • mdb-sql
  • mdb-tables
  • mdb-ver

mdb-ver gives me the version of the db in question: JET4.

mdb-hexdump works. i guess. but i don’t really know what to do with a fuck ton of hex data.

all the rest just give me a “bus error”.

i have no idea where to go from here or what the error really means for me. mdb-tools development seems to be pretty dead in the water. so i don’t know what to do next. i would like to be able to get at that data, though.

help me, lazyweb. help me.

